• 00Days to go

Cln Prof. Catherine Birman

Rpah, Chw, Nextsense, Sydney Uni, Macquarie Uni

Clinical Professor Catherine Birman OAM MBBS PhD FRACS GAICD

Professor Birman is an otolaryngologist specializing in paediatric and adult cochlear implants, otology and paediatric ENT. She is the Medical Director of NextSense Cochlear Implant Program and has performed approximately 1800 cochlear implant surgeries. She works at a number of Sydney hospitals, including Children’s Hospital at Westmead, RPAH and MUH.

In 2017 she was awarded the NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year Award. She received the ASOHNS Medal in 2018 and in 2022 received the Order of Australia Medal for services to otolaryngology.

Professor Birman has published and presented nationally and internationally on cochlear implants, novel devices and bone conduction implantable devices, along with participating in a number of grants and clinical trials.

She is Clinical Professor and Joint Head of Department at Sydney University, and an Honorary Clinical Professor at Macquarie University. She is a past NSW chair of ASOHNS.

Prof Sarah Wise

Emory University School of Medicine

Sarah K. Wise, MD, MSCR is Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. She is the Emory Otolaryngology Residency Program Director, Rhinology Fellowship Director, and Director of Otolaryngic Allergy. Dr. Wise completed medical school at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio, residency at Emory University and rhinology fellowship at the Medical University of South Carolina. Dr. Wise has served on the Board of Directors of the American Rhinologic Society and the American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy. She will become President of the American Rhinologic Society in September 2022, serving as the Society’s first female president. Her clinical interests include inflammatory rhinology, otolaryngic allergy, relationship of allergy and chronic rhinosinusitis, and cerebrospinal fluid leaks. Dr. Wise lectures nationally and internationally. Her most notable publication is the International Consensus Statement on Allergy and Rhinology: Allergic Rhinitis, where she served as first author/primary editor.

Sponsor Name

Sponsor bio – Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.